Mothers’ Day

When KR was about to enter the operating theatre during the PSARP, a verse in Isaiah spoke to me. 

As a Mother comforts her child, so I will comfort you… Isaiah 66:13 

I was carrying KR in my arms and trying to rock him to sleep as calmly as I can before handing him over to the Anaesthetist. 

Sniff. Sniff. .sshhhhh shhh 

The imagery of the Lord cradling me in His arms and comforting me as I comfort KR, momentarily displaced my pains. 

It’s Mothers’ Day today. This same verse was preached during service. It was a message to caregivers, especially to mothers who are always carrying a burden. 

Even to your old age and gray hairs  I am he, I am he who will sustain you.I have made you and I will carry you. I will sustain you and I will rescue you.  Isaiah 46:4 

Even when I grow old, the Lord will sustain me, carry me and rescue me! Wow! This blew my mind when I read the verse again and again. The human body is so limited. If I can, I would love to be caring for my children even to their white hair and old age. But is that possible? I would possibly be in the grave by the time they are well advanced in age. I can’t possibly still do what I am doing for them now, then. 

Especially KR, I am constantly worrying. Is he breathing well? How is he recovering from the ops? When can he eat and poop like the normal children? … as he grows, I believe I will start worrying if he could learn well, can he take care of himself? … the list goes on and is endless. 

As a Mother, I wish to carry my child even to his old age but I know it’s impossible! This verse tells us that God is able and is willing to do that. If I love my children this much, the Lord loves them even more and He will take care of them. 

The speaker continued to preached for Isaiah 49:15. 

“Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you!

Such a liberating scripture. If I could rephrase the verse, it means the Lord will remember, us (as mothers) and our children. 

If you are a mama and like me, you are constantly worrying for your babies. Take delight to know that there is someone greater out there, more capable than you are, one who live in everlasting. He, will carry us through. Blessed Mothers’ Day. 

Leave a Reply

