What’s so good about the Friday?

Good Friday is the day we commemorate the death of Jesus. How can we call it good when someone has died? Someone suffered the whipping, the crown of thorns, the ridicule and …the cross? The most inhumane and painful form of death penalty set for anyone – the crucifixion.

When I was still in teaching, I loved to greet my colleagues “Good Morning!” And flash them the million megabyte smile. Most of my colleagues will reply cordially but there is one who will always snuff out my friendly gesture with,

  “What’s so good about the morning?” 

I remembered replying often to this curt remark, “…the morning is good cos Jesus loves you!”

Indeed, this Friday is good because Jesus loves us. Two thousand years ago, it was on this very day that the redemptive purpose of the Lord was being fulfilled. We are no longer condemned for the curse of sin set out for us. Jesus’ sacrifice made grace and the abundant life available. This grace is free but it’s not cheap. It cost the life of the darling of heaven.

This Good Friday and Easter weekend were exceptionally memorable cos KR went through the PSARP. When I saw how his little hand was poked 6 times to get the wonky IV plug reset, how he wailed at poke and crying his lungs out for his mama to save him from the pain, I cried helplessly. I wish I could save my little darling from the torment of the needles but I know its very necessary and there is no other way. The plug had to be reset cos the kind of anti-biotic given to him was through the IV and when I asked if there is a comparable that could be given via orally? The answer was, no. 😦

Over the Easter weekends, the phlebotomists were off duty and I was totally not comfortable with letting a young medical officer (from the surgical team), who had zero experience with setting an IV plug, do it for KR. After checking in with the nurses in the High Dependency ward, we found the next best alternative. A registrar from the medical team. It still took 6 pokes, nonetheless, cos this boy had so many of his veins scarred from the previous plugs set. The brutal witness of pinning my son down for them to find the right vein still etches deeply in my mind. Each time I see the scarred hands and feet, the scene replays.

KR’s painful event led me to contemplate about Jesus’ sacrifice. I can’t help but to marvel at the magnanimity of God to give us Jesus for our sins. Which parent in the world would do that? To give his child for the life of another? Oh! The brokenness of God when He had no choice but to place His Son at the cross to save us, who can fathom? This grace is ridiculous, out of the world and incomprehensible. In awe, I can only but say, thank you Jesus.

Worthy is the Lamb!

For this is how God loved the world: He gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

