MCU & Loopogram 


Months ago, since the day I knew that KR has to go for the MCU and Loopogram, I felt uneasy. I don’t feel good knowing that they are going to catheterise him. I know he won’t remember a thing but it still pains my heart. The week that led up to these procedures was tough. It was always at the back of my mind even though I tried hard not to think too much about it. At times as such, I am so thankful for our prayer warriors who pray ever so faithfully with and for us. I needed peace. 

The night before, I texted to them for prayer support: 

Dear all, before KR goes for the Posterior Saggital Anorectoplasty in April (the Pull Through surgery to connect his rectum to anus) KR has to for a Loopogram and MCU procedure tmr at 11am. The main obj for these procedures is to find out the following: 

1. The height of the rectum

2. Whether there is a fistula that connects any of the internal organs. Please pray that there isn’t. So that the Pull through surgery will be less complicated. 

When KR was born, his intestines were all intact, of normal Length and functioning well. He was perfectly knitted in my womb. 🙂 very thankful for that. After seeing a few other patients in KKH, the Lord let me encounter many who are like KR, born with imperforate anus, but unfortunately, unlike him, they are unable to go through the Posterior Saggital Anorectoplasty cos they are either born with abnormally shorter intestines or the gut is just not able to function the way it should. 

Though, I can’t see with my naked eye whether or not he has a fistula, I am believing for a ‘no’. 

3. The functioning of the urethra and it’s connection with bladder and kidneys. I am also praying and believing for his urine flow to be normal and all organs functioning the way it should be. 

I have been very jittery about this day because the procedures are quite invasive. 😦 pray for peace and courage for me. Tk u

Pray for the administration of the catheter insertion into his urethra and also the stoma to be smooth, painless and KR to be calm throughout the whole procedures. Pray also that he will pee fast so that the procedure can be completed quickly! And also no infections from these procedures. Thank u.

 I then, went to read the word of God and sensed the Lord reminding me that “He is with us.” The scripture I meditated on that night was taken from Deut 31:6-8. 

6 Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.” 7 Then Moses summoned Joshua and said to him in the sight of all Israel, “Be strong and courageous, for you shall go with this people into the land that the Lord has sworn to their fathers to give them, and you shall put them in possession of it. 8 It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

I felt assured and went to bed that night. The Lord was faithful to us and He kept to His word. There were 2 incidents that took place which assured me that He was truly with us. 

Firstly, KKH car park is as infamous as the other public hospitals’. There are times when I have to either go for the free valet or simply park at some illegal space in order to go for my appointments. Yesterday, all illegal lots were taken and there was a long queue for the free valet. 

While in the queue, I prayed to Jesus to grant us a lot because we were already late for the apt. Specifically, I asked the Lord for someone on my left to leave so that I can park and not having to wait til I reach the valet (easily, I could see 10 cars before me). A security officer knocked on my window pane the moment I said, ‘amen’. I was told to park at the public car park cos yesterday, due to the rain, the car park was exceptionally full and if I were to continue staying in the queue for the valet, I will be stuck in a jam. Before I could answer him, a couple walked towards the car parked on my left and was about to leave! The security officer immediately said, “You are one lucky girl.”

I just replied, “Nope! It’s cos I prayed to Jesus for a lot!” Very thankful for God to care about the littlest things in our lives …. yes for yesterday, it was a car park lot. 

Secondly, my most fretful moment for the entire procedures was when they were putting in the catheter 😦 I kept imagining how painful and uncomfortable it would be for KR and that pained my heart. Soon after the Nurses drew the curtains and were preparing for the catheterisation, an Indian lady caught me tearing and told me “Don’t worry, God is inside!” I really thought I met an angel! The exact word that God spoke to me in Deut the night before. A sense of peace came over me thereafter. Thankful for that confirmation and reminder that the Lord is with us 🙂

God loves and cares for us. We are so thankful. 

Leave a Reply

