I’ll Carry You Through

The post Op care from the lip surgery has been manageable though it was yet, another painful experience for any mother to clean the wounds of a baby. 

KR was mostly drowsy on Day 1 cos the morphine was still wearing out and the poor boy was drifting in and out of sleep much. KR was also very cranky and refused to be put down to sleep on his own. He slept in my carrier from 9pm to 2am that night. My helper helped with the other shift til 6am in the morning. 

Day 2 til 5 nights were very much the same. But slightly better, he could at least sleep a couple of hours on his own before we need to ‘Koala’ him again. However, in the day, he can’t nap soundly unless I put him in the carrier.

It’s very tiring doing that cos that would mean having to lose sleep myself. Sometimes, I would catch myself dozing off with him on my chest as I sat on the sofa to rest. But the moment he stirred, I am awake to check if he is alright. I am constantly on the watch. Though I am tired, I just want to carry him through this period cos I know how uncomfy it must have been for him. 

While doing this intense carrying throughout the week, it was such a revelation that in my situation, my Papa God will also carry me through. God will neither slumbers nor sleep while he watches over us (Psalm 121). 

Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you. Isaiah 46:4

Footprints in the Sand by Mary Stevensons

One night I dreamed a dream.

As I was walking along the beach with my Lord.

Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.

For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sand,

One belonging to me and one to my Lord.

After the last scene of my life flashed before me,

I looked back at the footprints in the sand.

I noticed that at many times along the path of my life,

especially at the very lowest and saddest times,

there was only one set of footprints.
This really troubled me, so I asked the Lord about it.

“Lord, you said once I decided to follow you,

You’d walk with me all the way.

But I noticed that during the saddest and most troublesome times of my life,

there was only one set of footprints.

I don’t understand why, when I needed You the most, You would leave me.”
He whispered, “My precious child, I love you and will never leave you

Never, ever, during your trials and testings.

When you saw only one set of footprints,

It was then that I carried you.”

When we allow the Lord to carry us through, we can rest and rest well. 

Leave a Reply

