Lean On Me

After being very discouraged from not being able to put in the NGTube for KR on Friday, LY shared with me the day’s Our Daily Bread. It was about leaning on God. And indeed, I so needed to hear Matt 11 cos the sudden weight of caregiving fell on my shoulders and I was very disturbed and disappointed with myself. Aunty C educated me that KR probably has grown and hence the structure behind his nasal passage too, thus making it a challenge putting the tube in unlike before.

 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” 

I slept after Sweetheart prayed over me, soundly.

In the morning, the Lord spoke to me through Psalm 50:15.

Call on Me in the day of trouble; I shall rescue you, and you will honor Me.

That same afternoon KR pulled out the NGTube again and this time, Aunty C could not be reached.  

Should I drive down to children’s emergency in KKH? Can I put in the tube? What if I can’t get it in again? 

My mind was literally in a whirl and hands turned jellified after trying for 20mins and I still could not find the hole that will lead the tube down. It was just then, I recalled the verse I read in the morning and I called on the name of Jesus. At that instance, I successfully put in the tube. Even my helper who was holding KR for me heaved a sigh of relief.

God is indeed dependable. What a promise! That day, I shared with my helper the verse that spoke to me. She said that I was clever and I replied that it’s not me but God who is real. Thank you, Jesus.

Lean on Me by Bill Withers

Leave a Reply

